The purpose built Visitor Centre with entry to the Mining and Pastoral Museum, is located at the southern entrance to town. Mount Magnet’s spacious and airconditioned Visitor Centre offers local, regional and state wide travel information, brochures and maps.
A town map with the popular 37km Tourist Drive, which passes through the rich historic gold mining area and spectacular ancient landscape, can be picked up here.
Gifts which have a unique connection to the region including books, fine artwork, cards and fascinating rocks are available in the Gift Shop.
When planning your stay, allow time to visit “Ron the Rock Man’s” extraordinary Rock Collection and the Mining and Pastoral Museum (Entry fee applies).
The MINING AND PASTORAL MUSEUM exhibits a vast collection of artifacts and photographs from the town’s rich past. Countless voluntary hours and more than thirty years have been dedicated, by members of the Mount Magnet Historical Society, to collect, restore and preserve this unique collection. Now on permanent display, the museum provides an insight into early pastoral (since 1878) and gold mining activities (since 1891) which make up the Murchison region’s history. Insight is also given into a rapidly vanishing way of outback life. The original Boogardie State Battery has been rebuilt on the museum site and, with the outstanding Rabbit Proof Fence exhibit (featuring film sets and stories depicted in two movies), pastoral shed and other relics, is a must-see for tourists and residents of the region alike.
Entry is through the Visitor Centre (See Visitor Centre Opening Hours). Museum entrance fee:
- Adults $10
- Concession $5
- Children $2 (Children must be accompanied by an adult)
|May – September||7 days||9am – 4pm|
|October||7 days||9am – 3.30pm|
|November – March||Mon – Fri||10am – 2pm|
|April||7 days||9am – 3.30pm|
Tel: (08) 9963 4172